Board Members & Staff

Board Members

The Cuyahoga County Board of Elections consists of four members each appointed to a four-year term by the Secretary of State. The board has two Democratic Party and two Republican Party members.

Inajo Davis Chappell, Chairwoman
Democratic Party

Inajo Davis Chappell

Inajo Davis Chappell, Democratic appointee, is a partner with the Ulmer & Berne law firm of Cleveland. Inajo is Chair of her firm’s Nonprofit Group. Her legal practice focuses on corporate and real estate law and she represents both private and public sector clients. Inajo was named an "Ohio Super Lawyer" in January 2007 in a survey of Ohio lawyers conducted by Law and Politics and Cincinnati magazines. She is an active community volunteer and has served on a number of boards of local charitable organizations. Chappell holds a bachelor's degree from Yale University and a law degree from Columbia University.

Rob Frost, Member
Republican Party 

Rob Frost was first appointed to the Cuyahoga County Board of Elections in May 2007. He served as a Board Member from 2007 through 2011, and was reappointed in March of 2013.  Having also served as Chairman of the Republican Party of Cuyahoga County since January of 2005, Rob is also counsel with Tucker Ellis, LLP law firm in Cleveland and a former Rocky River City Councilman.  Rob graduated from Emory University in Atlanta in 1991 (BA, Latin American Studies), and obtained his Juris Doctor, cum laude, from Case Western Reserve University in 1993. Prior to entering into private law practice, Rob served as Assistant Chief Legal Counsel to Ohio Auditor of State Jim Petro. Frost currently resides in Lakewood with his wife Amy and their three children. 

Jeff Hastings, Member
Republican Party 

Jeff Hastings has been a Member of the Board of Elections since April 2007 and served as Board Chairman from April 2007 to December 2012.  A former Judge of the Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas, Jeff is currently Of Counsel at Collins & Scanlon, LLP in Cleveland.  Previously, he served as a Managing Attorney for the Cleveland Office of the Ohio Attorney General.  After graduating from Ashland University with a B.A. in Political Science and Economics, Jeff went on to obtain his M.B.A. from Baldwin-Wallace College, and a Juris Doctorate from Cleveland-Marshall College of Law. Jeff currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Western Reserve Insurance Group, the Advisory Board of the Greater Cleveland Salvation Army, the Advisory Council of Harbor Light and is a member of the Republican Party of Cuyahoga County Executive Committee. 

Eben O. (Sandy) McNair, IV, Member 
Democratic Party

Mr. McNair received his B.A. from St. Lawrence University with a double major in Philosophy and History. He holds a Master’s Degree from the University of Chicago’s Committee on the Analysis of Ideas and Study of Methods. He received his J.D. from Cornell University. 

Since 1980, he has represented public and private sector labor unions, employee benefit plans and individuals in employment related matters. He is an attorney with Schwarzwald McNair & Fusco LLP and a Democratic precinct committee person and City Leader for Brecksville.

Pat McDonald, Director

Pat McDonald was appointed Director of the Board of Elections in January of 2013, having previously served as Deputy Director since 2007.  Serving in this capacity has afforded him the opportunity to assist the voters of Cuyahoga County by executing and enhancing accurate, efficient, and transparent elections.  Under Director McDonald’s leadership, the Cuyahoga County Board of Elections (CCBOE) remains a leader in election administration not just in Ohio, but throughout the nation.

During Director McDonald’s tenure, the CCBOE has conducted several technological pilot projects aimed at improving the Election Day experience for voters, has undergone a reorganization of positions and departments in order to increase efficiency, and he has spoken on behalf of Cuyahoga County on a national level, sharing the policies and procedures that has made the CCBOE successful with other election jurisdictions.  In 2014, Director McDonald’s leadership earned the CCBOE two prestigious awards from The Election Center; those awards include the Eagles Award for Technology and the Stars & Stripes Award for Community Partnerships.

Prior to joining the CCBOE is 2007, Director McDonald has previously served as Finance Director for the Ohio Secretary of State (1991-99), Assistant Director of the Ohio Department of Commerce (1999-2005), and Deputy State Treasurer at the Ohio Treasurer’s Office (2005-06).  In 2014, Director McDonald was appointed as an Ohio Commodore by Governor John Kasich in recognition of his contributions to economic development in the state of Ohio.  He has also been a member of the Ohio Lottery Commission since 2006, and currently serves as Chairman of the commission.  In addition, Director McDonald is proud to serve as a Trustee of the Ohio Association of Election Officials.

A native of Dayton, Ohio, Director McDonald earned a Bachelor of Arts and Master’s Degree in Public Administration from the University of Dayton.  Director McDonald now resides in Rocky River, Ohio.

Anthony W. Perlatti, Deputy Director 

Deputy Director Anthony W. Perlatti is proud of his 15 years of public service in Cuyahoga County. He joined the Board of Elections as the Human Resources Manager in 2007 and was appointed to Deputy Director in February of 2013.

Mr. Perlatti has spent his career in government service and is dedicated to providing quality service to voters. His background includes extensive experience in problem solving, labor relations, and public administration.

Mr. Perlatti is a long time resident of the City of Lyndhurst where he resides with his wife and two daughters.  He graduated from Cleveland State University where he earned a Bachelor of Business Administration with a concentration in Management and Labor Relations and completed the Local Officials Leadership Academy XVI in May of 2007.

Board of Elections Staff
Department Name Title Phone Number
Office of the Director Pat McDonald Director


Greg Beyer
Executive Assistant 216.443.6445
Office of the Deputy Director Tony Perlatti
Deputy Director 216.443.6677

Taran Henderson
Executive Assistant 216.443.3280
Democratic Board Office Linda Walker
Administrative Assistant 216.443.6435
Republican Board Office Matthew Clever
Administrative Assistant 216.443.6450
Ballot Preparation & Tabulation Brian Cleary
Manager 216.443.7678
Candidate & Petition Services Brent E. Lawler
Manager 216.443.6509
Community Outreach Dennis Anderson
Manager 216.443.6681
Election Support Victor Rush
Manager 216.443.6424
Executive Office Shantiel Soeder 
Bilingual Office Ivelisse Roig
Bilingual Coordinator 216.443.3242
Fiscal Services Sean Webster
Manager 216.443.6442
Human Resources Claudia Merritt
Manager 216.443.6468
Information Systems

Robin Roy
Chief Information Officer  216.443.6558

Helen Tian
Application & Database Administrator 216.443.6568
Poll Worker  Henry Curtis
Manager 216.443.6679
Registration Betty Grant Edwards
Manager 216.443.6510